【 Travel 】A Guide to the Bangkok Skytrain

What is the Bangkok Skytrain ? 

BTS ( Bangkok Mass Transit System ) , also known as the Skytrain , is a public transportation widely used in Bangkok . Though it’s one of the most expensive mass transits , riding on the BTS is more efficient and less time-consuming , since it saves you hours from jamming in the traffic . Therefore , it has a high capacity of passengers , as millions of people rely on it to get around the city .


The BTS Skytrain contains two major routes , the Sukhumvit Line ( light green ) and the Silom Line ( dark green ) . 

The Sukhumvit Line runs north to east between Mo Chit and Bearing , while the Silom Line runs west to south , from the National Stadium to Talat Phlu . They both intersect at Siam . If you are heading to Suvarnabhumi Airport , you can switch to the ARL ( Airport Rail Link ) at Phaya Thai and get off at the final station .

Fares and Passes

BTS fares range from 15 baht to a maximum of 55 baht , depending on the travel distance . 

Other than purchasing the tickets station by station , you may also buy BTS passes so you can deposit the fare all at once . Below are the different kinds of passes available .

Standard Rabbit Card :

These cards are sold for 100 baht and includes a 50 baht refundable deposit . They’re valid for 5 years and can hold up from 100 to 4,000 baht .

One-Day Pass :

This pass offers unlimited BTS rides in a day at the price of 140 baht . Ideal for visitors .

30-Day Pass :

This pass offers you a limited amount of trips used within 30 days , on a discounted price . Suitable for residents and daily commuters .

– 15 trips : 465 baht

– 25 trips : 725 baht

– 40 trips : 1,080 baht

– 50 trips : 1,300 baht

Operating Hours 

The BTS Skytrain runs daily , from 6:00 to 24:00 .

Click here to check on the time table .

Where to Buy Tickets

Tickets are available at vending machines in the BTS station . Remember that you can only insert coins , so you may need to exchange at the service counter if you only have notes .

Spread the love
« »